ladurée

Ladurée is a 149 year old luxoury cake and pastery shop based in Paris that purportedly invented the macaroon.  This amazing little bakery is one of the most famous macaroon shops in the world – they sell fifteen thousand every day!  These macaroon have become even more famous since they were used in both Gossip Girl and in the movie Marie Antoinette. Tourists and locals can both be seen proudly toting the pale green shopping bags, full of hundreds of dollars worth of sweets, up and down the Champs-Elysées.  Since macaroons are one of my favorite foods, I obviously had to check this place out while I was in Paris.  I have to say it was well worth the 30 minute wait and the jarring 1.65 euro price tag (that would be for one two-bite treat!)

I chose the lemon and the raspberry, after much debate, and was definitely not disappointed by either!  The ganache filling on the inside was probably the best I’ve ever had.  It was so fresh and delicious like someone had picked the fruit from right outside of the kitchen!

Ladurée, 75 avenue des Champs Elysées, Paris,France 75008. Tel: +33 1 40 75 08 75. Website.


Leave a comment